How to Block, Unblock or Unfriend Someone on Discord

Block unblock someone on discord

There are always people sending you unwanted direct messages or spamming the server with images, voice, or text. This can get annoying very fast. Therefore, you need to know how to block, unblock or Unfriend someone on Discord.

By default, all users on a Discord server can send each other direct messages, and every user sees all the messages in a channel.

While the default is good, this article will show you some ways to avoid users with whom you don’t want to interact.

What to Know

 Blocking is different from banning someone. Anyone can block a user, but only Admins can ban a user on a Discord server.

 Blocking someone is not a permanent action. You can unblock the user whenever you want.

 No notification is sent to the blocked user, so they will not know.

How to Block Someone on Discord PC

Let’s get straight to the point and find out how to block someone on Discord.

Blocking someone on discord PC (or Mac) is relatively straightforward, and the steps are the same regardless of whether you use the desktop app or use Discord from the browser.

There are two ways to do it: Block someone from their name or their profile. We’ll go through both methods.

Block Someone From Their Name

Step #1: Find a message from that user in any channel’s chat.

Step #2: Right-click on their username to bring up a menu and select the ‘Block’ option.

Block from discord username option

Step #3: Click on the ‘Block’ button.

Block someone prompt

Block Someone From Their User Profile

Step #1: Click on the user’s avatar

User profile picture

Step #2: In the box that appears, click on the user’s avatar.

Quick message option

Step #3: In the window that appears, click on the three dots on the top-right corner and select the ‘Block’ option.

Discord User profile

How to Block Someone on Discord Mobile Phone App

The steps to block someone on the Discord app (iPhone or Andriod) are a bit different but still simple.

Step #1: Tap the profile picture of the user you want to block.

Step #2: Tap on the three dots on the menu

Menu on Discord mobile app

Step #3: Select the ‘Block’ option.

block option on discord mobile app

What Happens When You Block Someone on Discord?

When you block someone, they get blocked on all shared servers (All Discord servers where you both are present).

A few things happen, when you block another user:

  • If the person were on your Friends List, their name would be removed from it.
  • The blocked user won’t be able to communicate with you: No private messages or calls.
  • No more Alerts. The blocked user won’t be able to ping you or add your name to messages anymore (using the @).
  • They will still be able to see your status and the text messages you write in the channels.
  • No notifications are sent to them, so the user won’t know that they got blocked.
  • All their previous messages will be hidden right away.
Blocked messages

Can Someone Find Out That They Have Been Blocked by You?

Yes, the blocked user can find out that you have blocked them. There are a few ways to check if someone has blocked you on Discord.

If the blocked user tries to send you a private message, they will get an error message back from the Clyde bot preventing them from doing so.

Clyde bot message is someone has blocked you

This indicates to the blocked user that you are not accepting their direct messages and most likely have blocked them.

How to Unblock Someone on Discord

If you have blocked someone by mistake or changed your mind about them, it is easy to unblock them as well.

There are two ways to unblock someone on Discord: From the Friends Menu or their user name.

Unblock From the Friends List

Step #1: Go to ‘Home’ (top left corner)

Step #2: Click on the ‘Friends’ menu

Friends list tab

Step #3: Click on the ‘Blocked’ option and find their name.

Blocked menu option

Step #4: Right-click on their name and select ‘Unblock’

Unblock menu option

Unblock From Their User Name

Step #1: Find a previous message from the user

Step #2: Right-click on their username to bring up the menu and select the ‘Unblock’ option.

Unblock from discord username

After unblocking someone, you can immediately start interacting with them, but if you want them to be on your Friends list again, then you’ll have to send a new friend request.

How to Unfriend Someone on Discord

Blocking someone is a strong action, and sometimes instead of blocking, you just want to unfriend the user.

The steps mentioned below remove the user from your Friends list.

Step #1: Go to ‘Home’ (top left corner)

Step #2: Open the ‘Friends’ menu

Friends list menu option

Step #3: Click on the ‘All’ option to get a list of online and offline friends.

All friends menu option

Step #4: Find their name and right-click on it to bring the menu to select the ‘Remove Friend’ option.

Remove friend option

On the Discord app, you can tap on the user’s avatar to bring up a menu. Then go ahead and tap on the three-dot menu icon and select the ‘Remove Friend’ option.

Remove friend option on discord mobile app

What Happens When you Unfriend Someone on Discord?

To unfriend someone is a less drastic step than completely blocking someone on Discord.

When you unfriend someone on Discord, a few things happen:

  • Their name is immediately removed from your Friends list.
  • Your name will be removed from their Friends list.
  • The past conversations will not be deleted
  • You can still interact with them and also send them private messages.
👋 Are you looking for more such helpful Discord article? Take a peek at our guide to Discord.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

How do You Block Someone on Discord Without Them Knowing?

No notifications or alerts are sent to the user when you block them. Therefore, the other user won’t know that you have blocked them. This is a privacy feature of Discord.

You can block knowing that the other user won’t know about it until they try to interact with you.

Can You Block Someone You’re Not Friends With on Discord?

Yes, you can block someone you’re not friends with on Discord. All you have to do is find their name in the chat, right-click on it, and select the ‘Block’ option from the menu that comes up.

Concluding How to Block or Unblock Someone on Discord

If you don’t feel like interacting with other users for some time, you can just change your discord status to appear offline instead of blocking them.

Everyone wants to have a good experience on Discord and interact with like-minded people, but there are always scenarios where you have to take steps to block or unfriend users.

Hopefully, now you are equipped with the knowledge to make your Discord experience even better.


Explore Other Interesting Discord Articles

◉ How to Bold, Italic, Strikethrough, Underline, and Color text in Discord

How to Disable Text To Speech (TTS) in Discord (Step-by-Step)

Spread the love

About the Author

Emily Headshot

Emily Smith is the chief writer for Shufflegazine. She has written about the various technology trends for over a decade now and has been featured in various publications. Spending time outdoors and reading up on the latest technology innovations is a passion of hers.

You can connect with Emily on Email, Twitter, About.Me