The process of deleting a Discord server that you created or own is incredibly simple, and you can usually complete the process within a minute.
The process is simple but irreversible. So, don’t delete a server without giving some thought to it.
With that in mind, the following guide shows you how to delete a Discord server on both Desktop and Mobile devices.
⚡ What to Know ‣ Only the current server owner can delete it, regardless of the roles and permissions set up on the server. ‣ Deleted servers cannot be recovered, not even by the Discord Staff. ‣ Since no notification is sent to members that a server is being deleted, it is a good idea to let the members know beforehand.
What Happens When you Delete a Discord Server?
When a server owner decides to delete a server, all the server’s data is removed.
- All messages and chats are deleted.
- All content shared in the server is gone.
- All members are removed and won’t be able to see the server anymore.
- Discord users won’t be able to search and discover the server.
- No notifications or alerts are sent to the server members indicating that the server has been deleted.
If managing the server takes too much time or you don’t want it anymore, you have other options.
Instead of deleting the server, you can:
- Make someone an administrator to take over the day-to-day running of the server.
- Pick a trustworthy server member and transfer ownership of the server to them.
Who can Delete a Discord Server?
Only the server owner can delete a server on Discord.
Even if other server members have full permissions, such as admins, only the owner of the Discord server can delete it.
Ownership of a Discord server can be transferred as well from time to time.
Therefore, this action can only be done by the current server owner, regardless of who created the server.
How to Delete a Discord Server on Desktop (PC or Mac)
Deleting a server is a straightforward process that can be done within minutes.
Step #1: Navigate to the server you want to delete and click on the server name in the top left corner to bring up a menu.
Step #2: Select ‘Server Settings’ in the dropdown menu to get to the server management page.
Step #3: Locate the ‘Delete Server’ option on the left sidebar and click on it.
Step #4: You’ll be prompted to input the server name. Enter the server name in the text box, and click on ‘Delete Server’.
If you have enabled two-factor authentication, you’ll have to provide the 6-digit authentication code before you can delete the server.
That’s it! You have successfully deleted the server.
How to Delete a Discord Server on Mobile
Deleting a server on the Discord mobile app is simple as well, and can be done from iPhone or Android phone.
Step #1: In the main menu, navigate to the server you want to delete
Step #2: Tap on the server name to bring up the server management options page.
Step #3: Tap on ‘Settings’ to bring up the server settings.
Step #4: Tap on the three-dot menu icon in the top right corner to bring up the ‘Delete Server’ option.
Step #5: Tap on the ‘Delete Server’.
Step #6: A prompt will show up asking you to confirm the delete action. Tap on ‘Delete’ to delete the server.
If you had enabled two-factor authentication as a security measure, then you’ll have to provide that as well.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Why Can’t I Delete my Discord Server?
If you have set up two-factor authentication (2FA), you won’t be able to delete the server until you provide the correct authentication code.
This is a 6 digit code, and if you cannot use 2FA, you can disable 2FA with backup codes before you delete the server.
Does Deleting a Discord Server Delete it for Everyone?
Yes, deleting a Discord server deletes it for everyone.
Existing members won’t be able to see the server anymore, and other Discord users won’t be able to search and discover it.
Why Would a Discord Server be Deleted?
A Discord server can be deleted by the server owner for any reason. The server owner has complete control over the server and can delete it whenever they want.
Discord can also delete a server if it violates Discord’s Terms of Service and Community Guidelines.
Can a Deleted Discord Server be Recovered?
Once a Discord server is deleted, it cannot be recovered by either the owner or the Discord staff.
Discord removes all backups as well when a server is deleted, so the action cannot be reversed.
How to Delete a Discord Server That is not Yours?
There is no way to delete a server that is not yours because only the server owner can delete a server.
If the server owner transfers the ownership to you, only then would you be able to delete the server.
👋 Learn more in our extensive Discord guide.
Final Thoughts on Deleting a Discord Server
The most important thing to keep in mind is that deleting a server is permanent. So, make sure you really want to go ahead with it.
Transferring server ownership is an excellent alternative to deleting a server, as it keeps the community going.