Do you suspect that other users on Discord have blocked you? You are not alone. ‘How to know if someone blocked you on discord’ is one of the most frequently asked questions.
If you had a previous conversation with another user, but you are no longer able to see their profile or send them a message, you most likely have been blocked by them.
Like any other messaging platform, Discord empowers you to connect with people and block them when you don’t want to communicate anymore.
This article will go through five quick ways to find out if someone has blocked you.
⚡ What to Know ‣ No notification is sent when a user is blocked by another. ‣ Best way to find out if you have been blocked is to send the user a friend request.
How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Discord
Discord never directly tells you that someone has blocked you. I guess it is a feature rather than a bug.
Fortunately, there are other ways to quickly find out if someone has indeed blocked you on Discord.
Try Sending a Private Message
One of the simplest ways to find out if you have been blocked is to try sending the other user a private message (also called direct messages).
If you are able to send the message, then you are in the clear. You have not been blocked and can continue to interact with that user.
If you have been blocked, you’ll get a message back from the Clyde bot.
Clyde bot is an official bot that is present by default on all Discord servers. It provides various functions and commands to manage servers and users.
If you tried sending a private message to a user who has blocked you, you’d get the following message back from the Clyde bot.
The Clyde bot never tells you the exact reason why your message could not be sent, but it does provide a link where you can find out the various reasons why this might have happened.
If you were previously able to message the user and not able to anymore, there could be two reasons for it:
- The user has disabled direct messages and is not accepting direct messages from anyone.
- The user is not accepting private messages from you.
To find out for sure, you can request a common friend to send a message to the user you believe has blocked you. If they can send the message, you can be sure that you have been blocked.
Check your Friends List
A Friends list is a handy way to keep a list of your friends to quickly communicate with them and see their user profiles.
If the user was previously on your friend list, but you no longer see them on it, then that is another sign that you probably have been blocked by that user.
The user who initiated the block would not be able to see your profile in their friends’ list.
👋 This article is part of our coverage of all Discord Features.
How to Check if Someone Blocked You on Discord Without Sending a Message
If you don’t want to send an awkward private message just to check if the other person has blocked you on Discord or not, then this section is for you.
Use Discord Message Reactions
Discord message reactions are emojis that you can use to express your reaction to a user’s message.
This is the easiest way to find out if a user has blocked you.
You can use these message reactions as follows:
Step #1: Find a text message
Find a text message from the user on a discord server that you both use. Also, check if you were able to react to their messages earlier.
Step #2: Try to react to the user’s message
Try to use the message reactions on the user’s message. Use a reaction that would be acceptable as it might go through.
Step #3: Check the outcome
If your message reaction appears, then you are in the clear, and the user has not blocked you.
If your reaction disappears or does not appear at all, then that user has blocked you on Discord. You’ll even notice the screen vibrates a little on a PC, and on the mobile Discord app, you’ll get a “Reaction Blocked” alert.
Try Sending a Friend Request
This is another reliable way to determine if a user has blocked you on Discord without sending them a message.
If a user has blocked you, you’ll not be able to send them a friend request.
Try the following steps to find out:
Step #1: Go to the ‘Friends’ menu from ‘Home’ (top left corner)
Step #2: Select ‘Add Friend’ option
Step #3: In the text box that appears, type in the username and tag and click ‘Send Friend Request’
Step #4: If the user has blocked you, then you’ll get a ‘Friend Request Failed’ message.
Try to Tag Them
One of the most used features of Discord is to tag your friends in your messages, and you can only tag users that have not blocked you on Discord.
When you try to tag a user that has blocked you, their username will not show and you’ll not be able to find it as well.
What to do if Someone Blocks You?
While there are multiple ways to find out if someone has blocked you, you cannot do much about it. This is because the other user has chosen not to interact with you, and there is no way around it.
It is very easy to block someone on Discord, so it could be have been a mistake as well. If you really think that this might be a mistake, then you can try the following:
- Try to reach out to them outside of Discord.
- You can create a temporary account and try adding them as a friend.
- Ask mutual friends to reach out and let them know that they might have mistakenly blocked you.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Why Doesn’t Discord Tell Me if Someone has Blocked Me?
Discord doesn’t tell you if someone has blocked you for privacy reasons. Adding and removing friends is a personal decision, and users should have the option to do it without raising notifications or alerts.
You will also appreciate this lack of notification when you want to block or unfriend someone.
Final Remarks on How to Check if Someone Blocked You on Discord
There is no direct way to find out if you were purposely blocked or not. This is a privacy feature of Discord.
The different methods mentioned above can be very helpful to at least provide you with some hints in case you suspect that someone might have blocked you on Discord.
It can be frustrating to find out that another user has blocked you, but I hope that this article was able to help you find out if that is indeed the case.